Sterling Volunteer Rescue Squad

Upcoming Events

There are currently no events
View All Events

2019/2020 Call Statistics
Jan 694 542
Feb 531 511
Mar 534 469
Apr 527 492
May 519 524
Jun 543 531
Jul 553 578
Aug 567 557
Sep 613 536
Oct 628 534
Nov 597 440
Dec 621
Total 6927 5714

Past Statistics
2018 7.646
2017 7.533
2016 7,129
2015 6,518
2014 6,452
2013 5,901
2012 5,684
2010 5,054
2000 5,235
1990 2,843
1980 1,560
1970 374
1964 118


Web Counters
Website Visitors
February 18, 2016
Visitors Today
Nov 24, 2020
2020 Membership Appreciation and Installation Banquet
Email Print RSS Facebook Twitter RSS

By Member Megan Kingston
February 7, 2020

On Saturday 1 February 2020, the Sterling Volunteer Rescue Squad celebrated its membership at our annual Membership Appreciation and Installation Banquet, held at the 1757 Golf Club in Dulles, Virginia . During the event members of the rescue company were invited to relax for an evening of food, drink, music, and awards recognizing members of the organization for the outstanding work that they have done throughout the year.

During the ceremony, Chief Kathleen Harasek noted that “It is difficult to choose just a few individuals from the entire group, as all members do an outstanding job for the organization day in and day out. This company is the pinnacle of EMS and we should all be proud of the accomplishments that we have achieved. This night would not be possible if it was not for the hard work, dedication, and pride that each and every one of the members bring to the organization from an operational and administrative standpoint.”

Of the many recipients of awards, members were recognized for their years of service ranging from 5 years to as many as 40 years to the organization. Mark Vereb and Scott Maurice were installed as Life Members of the organization, while Charles “Charlie” Grant was recognized for his 35 years of service and dedication to the organization, and Byron Andrews was recognized for his 40 years of service to the organization. Other award recipients during the evening were:

- Probationary Member of the Year - Nick Klop
- Administrative Member of the Year - Missy Oertly
- Operational Member of the Year - Allison Apple and Michael Medwedeff
- Officer of the Year - Olivia McLaren
- Distinguished Member of the Year - Sam Neglia

Following the awards ceremony, the Administrative and Operational Officers of the organization were sworn into office by the Honorable Judge Thomas D. Horne (pictured) and the evening came to a close shortly thereafter.

The Officers and Members of Sterling Rescue would like to extend our thanks to all of our honored guests during the evening as well as to the crews from other rescue companies that came in to cover our stations, so we could have the night off. Our heartfelt congratulations go out to all of the awardees and our thanks to all of the members of Sterling Rescue for your continued support to the community.

Add a Comment Add a Comment 0 Comment(s)

Website Designed and Hosted By:
Firehouse Solutions
Content Proudly Maintained By:
Sterling Volunteer Rescue Squad
46700 Middlefield Drive
Sterling, VA 20165
Copyright © 2020 Firehouse Solutions (A Service of Technology Reflections, Inc.)